Biomimetics and Biomimicry in Engineering

Pastures new

In Info on 2013/04/26 at 1:18 pm

I am so very excited about my good news. Today I take on a new role at Loughborough University. It is a mixture of excitement for the challenges ahead and also an emotional farewell to Heriot-Watt.

My trajectory at Heriot-Watt spans almost 10 years, as I have been there a postgraduate student, a researcher, a teaching fellow and a lecturer. I am very grateful to the institution for so many opportunities given to me throughout the years, to the extreme that I considered the campus my home and some of my colleagues as part of my own family.

Today I join the Wolfson School of Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering, one of the flagships of engineering in the UK’s research and knowledge transfer arenas. I am very proud to become part of the Additive Manufacturing group, led by Professor Russell Harris. I will continue working in the areas of design & manufacture of engineered materials, on their biomimetic aspect, and on the sonication technology for the modification of structures and textures. My interactions with industry and carrying out ‘research that matters’ are a major drive for my academic activities. These will continue, and grow, with my move to Loughborough.

I am looking forward to working along with my new team, my prospective students and continue collaborating with my current and soon-to-be industrial partners.

And I can’t wait to tell you all about it.

With my warmest regards,

Carmen,

  1. Dear Carmen,
    Wish you all the best for your new assignment. I’m sure your new University would be greatly benefitted by your great research experience, excellent networking skills and empathetic teaching abilities.
    Regards,
    Ashok

Leave a Reply

